Facedown wrote:Looked like a goal to me. I'm just going by the replays I saw last night and have not seen any today.
The refs during replays are looking for a "distinct kicking motion" and the player never took his skates off of the ice.
If the puck had hit him a few inches higher and gone in off of his shin pad, nobody would say a word.
Bingo. There needs to be a "sweeping motion" for it to be distinct. There's no doubt Zibanejad readjusted his leg while stopping and certainly redirected it in. It does help that Zibanejad did make contact with the puck with his stick as well. Is it splitting hairs?-Absolutely, but the rule is more about loose pucks being punted in and less about redirection of shot pucks,rightly or wrongly.
Perhaps to eliminate all gray areas they should go back to the no using your skate to score period.